Once

As I can, I shall hijack dear Kentuckys blog for a moment to urge, nay, hmm… yes, urge, you to go and see Once. Its a dear little Irish film starring Glen Hasard of the Frames and Marketa Irglova of… Well, they released an album called “The Swell Season” together last year. Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed this film, made by former Frames bass player John Carney, and think you should go and see it. Its dimly lit, and very arty, but just a fantastic little little boy meets girl film. It’s not a traditional musical but follows the song-writing journey of a coupe of musicians who meet on the street, fix a vacuum cleaner and then record a demo. Brilliant musical performances, such as the impassioned rendition of ‘Say it to me Now’ whilst busking in front of an alley, or a the demoing of ‘When your minds made up’ in a recording studio make this a sensation little film. I like it even more every time I think about it.