Seriously, there have been a dozen (ok maybe a few) times where I’ve bought a ticket to see a band I don’t really care about with the main purpose of seeing their support act. This has just happened to me
recently, and it begs the question, should support bands be given more respect? Since I am still incensed at the cancellation of Gogol Bordello as support act for Flogging Molly (Truly disgraceful) I am inclined to say yes. It seems like supports are always changing for bands, one week there is one band playing second fiddle, the next week they have been replaced. Doesn’t this piss them off? Or are they just so grateful for the gig that they don’t care?

Personally I think we as the audience should also not be jerked around, especially when a couple of good support acts playing with a great headliner can really make an excellent night of music. We can get just as annoyed about a good support bad being cancelled last minute as much as the cancellation of the headliner.